Formed by our Films

This year, November 29th is the beginning of Advent–a word drawn from the Latin for “anticipation” or “coming,” with reference to Jesus. Traditionally, Advent is a time for us to prepare our hearts and minds to both celebrate the birth of Jesus and to ready ourselves for his return.This Advent season we will be considering the interface between the themes of Advent and popular Christmas Films. Last year we polled our congregation to determine people’s favorite (family friendly) Christmas movies. Each Friday in Advent, we’ll have the opportunity to gather over Zoom to watch a Christmas movie together at 6:30pm. The zoom link will be in our LSCC Weekly Update email. If you do not yet receive that email, contact us!

Friday Film Schedule:
Friday, November 27 at 6:30pm—How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Friday, December 4 at 6:30pm—It’s A Wonderful Life
Friday, December 11 at 6:30pm—Elf
Friday, December 18 at 6:30pm—A Muppet’s Christmas Carol

Films have a way of forming the way we think and how we feel about the world around us. On Sundays, Pastor Chris will explore the biblical themes under-girding each film, and offer some critique if necessary.

Join us for worship this Advent!

Sunday, November 29—How the Grinch Stole Christmas
Sunday, December 6—It’s A Wonderful Life
Sunday, December 13—Elf
Sunday, December 20—A Muppet’s Christmas Carol

*Thursday, December 24–Christmas Eve Candlelight Service
from 7-8pm (Via Zoom)
Christmas Sunday, December 27–A Charlie Brown Christmas
(Free on YouTube: please watch this on your own)